GENERAL FAQs

1. When is a good time to have a MILO®?

A glass of MILO® and milk is a nutritious drink, great to have if your child needs a nutritional boost, at any time of the day, including:

• Start your day with a glass of MILO® and milk as part of a healthy and varied breakfast e.g. wholegrain toast with baked beans or eggs, a piece of fruit and a glass of MILO® and milk.

• Before sport as a snack with a piece of fruit to provide a ready source of carbohydrates to fuel working muscles and provide energy during activity.

• After sport fuel as it contains a great source of fluid, carbohydrates, minerals and protein needed to replenish exhausted muscles.

• Nutritious lunchbox snack helps kids who are not getting all of their daily dairy serves. A nutritious lunch box should contain healthy foods from each food group e.g. wholegrain bread sandwich with salad and chicken, a piece of fruit, vegetable sticks with hummus, a serve of dairy such as yoghurt or a MILO® RTD and don’t forget to pack a bottle of water.

2. How many glasses of MILO® and milk can my kids have each day?

For active kids who need a nutritional boost, having one 200mL glass of MILO® and milk helps meet the daily serves, and easily fits into a balanced eating pattern.

Dietary Guidelines recommend children 4-11 years consume two to three serves of dairy foods a day to meet their daily calcium needs.

For more specific advice on your child's individual dietary needs, please consult your healthcare professional or an accredited practising dietitian.

3. How much sugar is in Original MILO®?

There is 4.5 teaspoons of total sugars in a glass of Original MILO® and milk. 2.5 teaspoons of this are natural sugars, coming from lactose in the fresh milk. The remaining 2 teaspoons of sugar in the Original MILO® powder is made up of natural sugar from milk powder (lactose), maltose from malted barley and sucrose from cane sugar.

4. How often can kids have a MILO® RTD?

For active kids who are on the go and need a nutritional boost, having one 200mL MILO® RTD helps meet the daily serves, and easily fits into a balanced eating pattern.

Dietary Guidelines recommend children 4-11 years consume two to three serves of dairy foods a day to meet their daily calcium needs.

For more specific advice on your child's individual dietary needs, please consult your healthcare professional or an accredited practising dietitian.

5. At what age can I give my child MILO®?

MILO® powder & RTD is most suitable for primary school-aged children and adolescents. It is not suitable for infants and very young toddlers (i.e. less than two years). Toddlers from one year of age are encouraged to have plain full cream milk as a drink. Please speak to your healthcare professional for specific dietary advice.

6. Does MILO® contain caffeine?

Caffeine naturally occurs in cocoa. MILO® powder contains 0.011-0.024g caffeine/100g MILO® i.e. 2.2mg-4.8mg per 20g serve MILO®. This is less than 10% of the caffeine found in a cup of instant coffee (2g of instant coffee has around 70mg caffeine per serve).

7. The RDI’s are for adults, yet MILO® is often consumed by kids. Why don’t you use RDI’s for children?

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand (FSANZ) provide Recommended Dietary Intakes (RDI) that are set for food manufacturers, based on an average adult diet. There are no RDIs for children in the Food Standards Code. MILO® provides 8 essential vitamins and minerals important for healthy growth and development in children.

8. How much sugar is in MILO® Ready to Drink (RTD) tetra pack?

There is 4 teaspoons of total sugars in MILO® RTD. Over half the sugar in MILO® RTD are natural sugars, coming from the fresh milk.

9. My child has milk protein allergy. Can they have MILO®?

No. MILO® contains milk protein and is unsuitable for people with milk protein allergy.

10. I am lactose intolerant. Can I have MILO® with milk substitutes like soy milk?

MILO® powder contains milk solids. The lactose content of MILO® powder is 2.5g per 20g serve. Consult your health care professional for individual dietary advice.

11. My child has a peanut allergy. Can he/she have MILO®?

There are no peanuts used within the MILO® factory. All ingredient suppliers have declared that the materials they supply to the MILO® factory do not have any traces of peanuts.

12. Is MILO® suitable for people with coeliac disease?

MILO® is NOT gluten free; this is indicated on the ingredient list on the label. MILO® contains traces of gluten from the malt barley and other grains used in producing MILO®. Gluten is found naturally in wheat, barley, rye, triticale and oats.

13. Is MILO® suitable for vegetarians?

If you are a vegetarian who avoids milk products, you should be aware that MILO® does contain milk solids.

MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR FAQs

1. How have you achieved the sugar reduction in MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR?

We have taken out all the added cane sugar (sucrose). The remaining added sugars are mainly from the Malt Barley, the main ingredient in MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR.

2. What is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR made from?

Like Original MILO®, MILO 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contains Malt Barley, Milk Solids and Cocoa. For this product, we have taken out all the added Cane Sugar. NEW ingredients we have added are soluble corn fibre to keep the crunch and texture and natural Stevia to maintain the sweet taste.

3. What is the serve size of MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR?

20g (three heaped teaspoons) of MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR prepared in 200ml skim or reduced fat milk. This is the same serve size as Original MILO®.

4. What is the Glycemic Index of MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR?

The GI is low (42) when made with skim milk.

5. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain gluten?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain gluten.

6. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain barley?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain barley.

7. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain milk products? Is it Dairy / Lactose free?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain milk products and therefore is not dairy or lactose free.

8. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain soy?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain soy.

9. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR suitable for a vegetarian diet?

Yes, MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR is suitable for a vegetarian diet.

10. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR suitable for a vegan diet?

No. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR is NOT suitable for a vegan diet, as it contains milk powder.

11. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR Halal certified?

This product has not been included in our Halal certified evaluation. It may be halal suitable.

12. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR Kosher certified?

The product is not made with Kosher-certified milk powder, therefore it would not be Kosher suitable.

13. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR free from artificial colours and flavours?

Yes

14. How much sugar is in MILO® 30% Less Added Sugar?

MILO® 30% Less Added Sugar contains 16g total sugar per serve (20g serve in 200ml skim milk). The Nutrition Information Panel breaks this down further into 12.5g lactose (natural sugar found in milk) and 3.5g added sugars (sugar in the malt barley).